Language:
 
 
Pages:
  
1.Introduction
2.Quick Start
3.Working with Devices
4.Auto Configuration Wizard
5.Types of Alerts
6.Motion/Noise Settings
7.Working with Periodically Activated Alerts
8.Remote Monitoring
9.Configuring FTP Settings
10.Minimizing the Application
11.Media Files
12.Keyboard Shortcuts
13.Event Logs
14.Resources
 

WebCam Monitor 6.21


Event Logs

WebCam Monitor is designed to run unattended.  To achieve this, WebCam Monitor avoids interrupting the user when it is monitoring.  All the information or errors that must be conveyed to the user are logged.  The log is displayed in the Monitoring Log window under the Log tab.  Logs can be saved and then opened for viewing.  Therefore, they can also serve as records.  Monitoring logs can be saved and maintained separately for later reference.

A log contains 3 columns – Date, Time and Description.  When an event occurs then the date and time of the event is logged.  The Description of the event provides more information about the event.

Events are logged when:

  1. Settings are changed.
  2. Devices are changed.
  3. Monitoring is started or stopped.
  4. Alert starts or stops.
  5. Upload starts or stops.
  6. Photos are taken: manually or automatically.
  7. Manual Recording is started or stopped.
  8. Broadcasting starts or stops.

Opening, Saving and Viewing a Log

To open a new log, point to the File menu and select NewLog.  You will be prompted to save an unsaved log file, if any.

Saving Logs

The Monitoring Log window shows untitled when logs are not saved.  It is recommended to save your logs with relevant names to make them easily accessible at a later date or time.  To save a log:

  1. On the File menu, select SaveLogAs.
  2. Specify the folder where you want to save the log.
  3. Specify a name for the log file.
  4. Click OK.

After saving the log, all new log messages are automatically added to this file.

Viewing a Saved Log

Log files created during monitoring by WebCam Monitor are saved as Text files.  You can navigate to that file in Windows Explorer and view the log in Microsoft Excel or Notepad for analysis.

Saving and Clearing Log every 6 hours

This option saves the Log after every 6 hours.  The existing Log is cleared after saving and subsequent events are logged in a new Log.

To enable this option, follow the given procedure:

  1. In the Tools menu, click on Options.
  2. Under the General tab >> Miscellaneous Settings, check Save and Clear Event Log every 6 hours.

If this option is not checked, Logs have to be saved manually.  If the Logs are not saved and the application is closed, WebCam Monitor will prompt the user to save the Log files.

Disable Logging

Selecting this option means that no event would be mentioned in the Log i.e., it would be blank.  This may be required when you want to improve the performance of the application.

To enable this option, follow the given procedure:

  1. In the Tools menu, click on Options.
  2. Under the General tab >> Miscellaneous Settings, check Disable event logging to improve performance.


Copyright © DeskShare Incorporated.  All rights reserved.