Volume points are used to manipulate the volume graph and therefore affect the volume variations. The volume graph is manipulated by grabbing the volume graph and changing its position, creating a volume point. When a volume point is moved upwards, above the normal, volume increases and when a volume point is moved downwards, below the normal, volume decreases.
Setting a Volume Point
To vary the volume, simply click on the volume graph at the time at which you wish to set the volume. You will notice a volume point plotted at that point. The volume graph (red line) runs through the volume point, and you can simply move the point up or down to change the volume. You may preview the Timeline to hear the difference.
Changing a Volume Point
To change an existing volume point, simply click on the volume point and drag it to its new location. The graph (red line) changes to reflect the volume point’s new position. You cannot move a volume point beyond the previous or the next volume point. If you attempt to do so, the volume point is deleted.
Deleting a Volume Point
To delete a volume point right-click on a volume point. You cannot delete the first and the last volume point of a volume track.
The volume can be brought back to its original level (100% volume throughout) by selecting Reset Volume from the Tools menu.
Volume tracks are not subject to editing operations (cut, copy, delete etc.). When you edit an audio track then its corresponding volume graph section is not affected.